Active Schools

What is Active Schools?

Active Schools is a national programme in partnership with sportscotland with the aim of providing more and higher quality opportunities to take part in sport and physical activity before school, during lunchtime and after school, and to develop effective pathways between schools and sports clubs in the local community.

Young people make a valuable contribution as leaders in sport and Active Schools Co-ordinators provide leadership opportunities across a range of roles and support young people throughout their leadership journey. Active Schools has worked with schools for the last 13 years providing opportunities for children and young people to get involved, and stay involved, in sport and will continue to make a significant contribution to a world class sporting system in Scotland.

Active Schools in your area

We have Active Schools Coordinators in all 10 clusters throughout Argyll and Bute. Please see below for contact details. For any general Active Schools enquiries please email us – activeschools@liveargyll.co.uk

Area

Primary/Secondary

Name

Email

Bute

Primary

Jane Gillies

Jane.gillies2@liveargyll.co.uk

 

Secondary

Craig Newport

craig.newport@liveargyll.co.uk

Cowal

Primary (Mon-Tues)

Lindsay Mitchell

Lindsay.Mitchell@liveargyll.co.uk

 

Primary (Wed-Fri)

Ruairidh Mcgregor

Ruairidh.Mcgregor2@liveargyll.co.uk

 

Secondary

Carl Sullivan

Carl.sullivan@liveargyll.co.uk

Helensburgh and Lomond

Primary

Martin Caldwell

Martin.Caldwell@liveargyll.co.uk

 

Secondary

Mairi MacVicar

Mairi.Macvicar@liveargyll.co.uk

Islay

Primary and Secondary

Nona Thomas

Nona.Thomas@liveargyll.co.uk

Mid Argyll

Primary and Secondary

Eilidh MacPherson

Eilidh.Macpherson@liveargyll.co.uk

Mull and Iona

Primary and Secondary

Babs Whyte

Barbara.Whyte@liveargyll.co.uk

North Kintyre

Primary and Secondary

Sharon Gillies-McCallum

sharon.gillies-mccallum@liveargyll.co.uk

Oban, Lorn and the Isles

Primary

Gillian Walker

Gillian.Walker@liveargyll.co.uk

 

Secondary

Nona Thomas

Nona.Thomas@liveargyll.co.uk

South Kintyre

Primary

Lindsay Ramsay

Lindsay.Ramsay@liveargyll.co.uk               

 

Secondary

Sharon Gillies-McCallum

Sharon.gillies-mccallum@liveargyll.co.uk

Tiree

Primary and Secondary

Will Wright

Will.wright@liveargyll.co.uk

How can I help or get involved?

Volunteers are at the heart of the work in Active Schools.  Without their support, the majority of activities would not happen.  There are over 800 people, including parents, teachers, support staff, community coaches, senior pupils and young primary leaders, who kindly give up their time to help across a range of sports and activities.

  • Are you interested in sport and physical activity?
  • Would you like to help make a difference?
  • Are you full of enthusiasm and energy?
  • Do you have an hour to spare a week?
  • Do you enjoy working with young people?
  • Would you be willing to participate in local training?

Active Schools will provide on-going guidance and support and in return volunteers will gain a high quality and rewarding volunteer experience.

If you would like to get involved please fill in our application form

Links

sportscotland

Social Media

@ABActiveschools

What’s on?

We have a varied Secondary Schools Programme and are working on an Argyll and Bute wide programme for Primary. Here are some upcoming events:

Cowal Summer Camp

Cowal Consent Form   

 

South Kintyre Summer Camp

South Kintyre Consent Form

 

Mid Argyll Summer Camp

Mid Argyll Consent Form

 

Bute Summer Camp

Bute Consent Form

            

              

 

 

circles containing images of various activities