Scottish Youth Parliament election results

Young people from all over Scotland have been making their voices heard as they voted to elect their local Members of Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs) in this year’s Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) national elections.

Established on June 30th, 1999 – making it just one day older than the Scottish Parliament – the SYP is the democratically elected voice of Scotland’s young people and elections are held every two years. MSYPs range in age from 14 to 25, and represent constituencies in all 32 local authorities throughout the country, and several national voluntary organisations.

The Results

Young people aged 12-25 were able to vote and elect young people standing for what they believe in, giving them a voice on all issues that impact young people. The key issues being stood for by candidates running in Argyll and Bute included education; the environment; health and wellbeing; youth work; equalities; justice; and rights.

Elected for the constituency of Argyll and Bute:

Ryan MacIntyre
Aged 16
Ryan Macintyre SYP MSYP

Ryan is a former member of the junior leadership team and is a prefect at Dunoon Grammar. Ryan is also a SeeMe Ambassador, a COP26 Local Champion for Argyll and Bute and was elected the chair of Cowal Youth Forum earlier this year.

Baileigh McIntyre
Aged 15
Baileigh McIntyre SYP MSYP

Baileigh has been very active in Rothesay Academy in championing support for young people’s mental health, period poverty and is now helping to lead the Bute Action Group in creating a youth space for young people on the island, having previously been involved with Bute Youth Forum,

Chloe Meikle
Aged 18
Chloe Meikle SYP MSYP

Chloe is a former pupil of Hermitage Academy and active member of Helensburgh & Lomond Youth Forum. Chloe is passionate about young people’s rights, having young people’s voices heard and is a COP26 Local Champion for Argyll and Bute.

David Kinniburgh, provost of Argyll and Bute Council and Andrew Nisbet, chair of liveArgyll, announced the results for the constituency and congratulated all who stood in the election. Thanks were also expressed to Community Learning who facilitated the voting process across the authority and will provide ongoing support to the elected MSYPs over the next two years.

Pin It on Pinterest