Eilidh and Luke complete Bronze Lifesaving Certificate

Congratulations to Eilidh Walker and Luke Watling-Smith who are the first to successfully complete their National Lifesaving Academy Bronze Lifesaving Certificate at the new Helensburgh Leisure Centre.

The Royal Life Saving Society launched the new award scheme in October 2022, replacing the Survive and Save lifesaving award programme that has been taught at Helensburgh Swimming Pool for over 5 years.

The RLSS UK National Lifesaving Academy awards are a suite of progressive awards that teach personal survival, first aid, CPR, rescue, and fitness skills to anyone aged 12 years and over. The aim is to teach candidates how to stay safe around water and how to safely assist others who may have gotten into difficulty in both aquatic and non-aquatic situations.

Structured into three levels (Bronze Lifesaving Certificate, Bronze Star, and Bronze Medallion), the awards teach foundational skills and then progressively build upon these.

The Bronze Lifesaving Certificate is designed to teach new lifesavers the basics of staying safe in or around water. It provides the candidate with basic water safety knowledge, basic aquatic lifesaving skills, basic CPR, and basic First Aid. The two subsequent award levels, Bronze Star and Bronze Medallion, are divided into three sections:

  1. Lifesaving Theory
  2. Lifesaving Survival and Rescue Skills
  3. CPR, AED and First Aid

On achieving the Bronze Medallion level of award, the candidate receives Recognition of Prior Learning hours towards the RLSS UK vocational lifeguard qualifications.

For further information or to register for the class please contact Helensburgh Leisure Centre Swim School team on 01436 672224 or email helensburghpool@liveargyll.co.uk

Pin It on Pinterest